| | More

Assembly on Respiratory Structure and Function Joseph R. Rodarate Award for Scientific Distinction

The RSF Planning Committee is very pleased to announce the Joseph R. Rodarte Award for Scientific Distinction in honor of the late Joe Rodarte, M.D. Dr. Rodarte was a distinguished member of the American Thoracic Society and of the Assembly on Respiratory Structure and Function. He was an international leader in the fields of respiratory physiology and pulmonary medicine and made invaluable contributions to our scientific and medical communities. We are proud to honor his memory with an award designated for an established investigator who has made distinguished contributions in the fields of respiratory medicine or physiology.

The award will consist of $500 and a plaque, to be presented at the 2014 ATS International Conference in San Diego, CA.


  • The candidate should be an established investigator with recognized and distinguished scientific achievement in the area of respiratory structure and function
  • This award is normally given to an RSF Assembly member, but suitable candidates from other ATS Assemblies will be considered
  • The award will be for sustained overall accomplishment and contributions to respiratory physiology and medicine over the duration of the candidate's career
  • Send the nominee’s current curriculum vitae including a list of the nominee’s publications
  • Nominator's letter which should clearly lay out the importance and impact of the candidate's accomplishments and achievements in the fields of respiratory physiology and medicine
  • Support letters are welcome

Past Recipients of the Joseph R. Rodarte Award

2002 Jeffery Fredberg, PhD (Harvard University)
2003 Peter Paré, MD  (University of British Columbia)
2004 Shared: Charlie Irvin, PhD (University of Vermont)
Gary Sieck, PhD (Mayo Clinic)
2005 Newman Stephens, MD (University of Manitoba)
2006 Wayne Mitzner, PhD (Johns Hopkins University)
2007 Rolf Hubmayr, MD (Mayo Clinic)
2008 Solbert Permutt, MD (Johns Hopkins)
2009 Peter D. Wagner, MD (University of California At San Diego Medical Center
2010 Julian Solway, MD (University of Chicago)
2011 Susan J. Gunst, PhD (Indiana University School of Medicine)
2012 Judith L. Black, PhD, MD (Institute Of Medical Research)
2013 Reynold A. Panettieri, Jr., MD (University of Pennsylvania)